Economic Zones Bangladesh

Bangladesh government is offering an attractive package of incentives to foreign investors in its economic zones or special economic zones. Investors are welcome to take the advantage. Bangladesh Economic Zones Authority (BEZA) aims to establish economic zones or special economic zones in all potential areas in Bangladesh including backward and underdeveloped regions with a view to encouraging rapid economic development through increase and diversification of industry, employment, production and export.

BEZA’s mission is to persistently create value for the investors by establishing attractive investment facilities in the economic zones through One-Stop service and competitive incentive packages. BEZA is mandated to establish, license, operate, manage and control economic zones in Bangladesh. Bangladesh government hope these special economic zones (SEZs) attracting high levels of foreign investment from high performing Asian economies like China and Japan.

Incentives & Benefits for Economic Zone Investors and Users

TAX HOLIDAY : For all Economic Zones Income Tax Holiday (ITH) -
1st and 2nd year 100%, 3rd year 80%, 4th 70%, 5th 60%,6th 50%, 7th 40%, 8th 30%, 9th 20% and 10th year 10%.

CUSTOM DUTY: Duty free import of raw materials, construction materials, capital machineries, finished goods .

INCOME TAX - OTHERS : Exemption from dividend tax (After tax holiday over)

REPATRIATION: Full repatriation of capital and dividend .

FREE FLOW FDI: No ceiling of FDI .

BACKWARD LINKAGE : 100% backward linkage raw-materials and accessories to sell for export oriented industries( EOI) in Domestic Tariff Area( DTA) .

LOCAL SALE : 20% sale of finished product to DTA (From Export Processing Area –EPA).

SUB- CONTRACTING : Sub-contracting with DTA allowed.

STAMP DUTY: 50% exemption of stamp duty and registration fees for registration of leasehold land/ factory space .

VAT : 80% exemption of VAT on all utility services consumed inside the zone .

CUSTOM DUTY : Duty exemption on Export .

CD ON VEHICLE : Exemption of CD for import of 2 vehicles within 1st 5 years for foreign investors ( for one time) .

DOUBLE TAXATION : Exemption of double taxation subject to Double taxation agreement .

IT INDIVIDUAL : 50% Rebate of income tax on salary income of expatriates for 5 years

CUSTOM BOND: Consider EZ as custom bonded area.

FOREIGN EXCHANGE: FC loan availability (To ease business activity).

FOREIGN EXCHANGE: FC Account for Non-Resident .

FOREIGN EXCHANGE : FC Account for both local and joint venture industry .

JOINT VENTURE : Joint venture allowed

ROYALTIES : Royalty, technical fees will be exempted from income tax .

CAPITAL GAINS : Tax exemption on capital gain.

SHARE TRANSFER: Share transfer allowed.

WORK PERMITS: Work permits – No restrictions on issuance of work permits on project related foreign nationals and employees but limited up to 5% of total employees .

RE- INVESTMENT : Re-investment of remittable dividend to be treated as new foreign investment .

RESIDENT : Resident visa for investment of US$ 75000 or more .

CITIZENSHIP : Citizenship for investment of US$ 500000 or more


EZ Economic Zone SEZ Special Economic Zone

List of Economic Zones in Bangladesh

Government-Owned Economic Zones

  1. Mongla Economic Zone Mongla, Bagerhat
  2. Mongla Economic Zone Mongla, Bagerhat
  3. Rampal Economic Zone Rampal, Bagerhat
  4. Sundarban Tourism Park Shoronkhola, Bagerhat
  5. Agailjhara Economic Zone Agailjhara, Barisal
  6. Bhola sadar Economic Zone Bhola Sadar, Bhola
  7. Bogra Economic Zone -1 Ushajahanpur, Bogra
  8. Ashugonj Economic Zone Ashugonj, Brahmanbaria
  9. Anawra -2 (CEIZ) Anawra, Chittagong
  10. Anwara Economic Zone Gahira, Anwara, Chittagong
  11. Mirsarai Economic Zone Mirsarai, Chittagong
  12. Patiya Economic Zone Patiya, Chittagong
  13. Comilla Economic Zone Meghna, Comilla
  14. Cox’s Bazar Special Economic Zone Moheshkhali, Cox’s Bazar
  15. Jaliardip Economic Zone Economic Zone Taknaf, Cox’s Bazar
  16. Moheshkhali -1 Economic Zone Moheshkhali, Cox’s Bazar
  17. Moheshkhali -2 Economic Zone Moheshkhali, Cox’s Bazar
  18. Moheshkhali -3 Economic Zone Dholghata, Cox’s Bazar
  19. Moheshkhali Special Economic Zone Ghotibagha, Cox’s Bazar
  20. Moheshkhali Special Economic Zone Cox's Bazar Ghotibagha and Sonadiya, Moheshkhali, Cox’s Bazar
  21. Moheshkhali Special Economic Zone Kalamarchora Moheshkhali, Cox’s Bazar
  22. Sabrang, Tourism SEconomic Zone Tacknaf, Cox’s Bazar
  23. Dhaka Economic Zone Dhohar, Dhaka
  24. Dhaka SEconomic Zone Karanigonj, Dhaka
  25. Feni Economic Zone Sonagazi, Feni
  26. Shreepur Economic Zone (Nayanpur), Shreepur, Gazipur
  27. Sreepur Economic Zone Sreepur, Gazipur
  28. Gopalganj Economic Zone Kotalipara, Gopalganj
  29. Gopalganj Economic Zone - 2 Gopalganj Sadar, Gopalganj
  30. Habigonj Economic Zone Chunurughat, Habigong
  31. Jamalpur Economic Zone -2 Jamalpur Sadar, Jamalpur
  32. Jamalpur Economic Zone Jamalpur sadar, Jamalpur
  33. Khulna Economic Zone -1 Boiyaghata, Khulna
  34. Khulna Economic Zone -2 Terkhada, Khulna
  35. Kustia Economic Zone Bheramara, Kustia
  36. Manikgnnj Economic Zone (BIWTA old Aricha Ferighat), Shibaloy, Manikganj
  37. Shrihatta Economic Zone Sherpur, Moulavibazar
  38. Munshiganj Gazaria Economic Zone Gazaria, Munshiganj
  39. Mymensingh Economic Zone Mymensingh, Mymensingh
  40. Mymensingh Economic Zone Mymensingh Sadar, Mymensingh
  41. Araihazar -2 Economic Zone Araihazar, Narayanganj
  42. Araihazar Economic Zone Araihazar, Narayanganj
  43. Narayanganj Economic Zone Bandar Sonarga, Narayanganj
  44. Narsingdi Economic Zone Narsingdi Sadar, Narsingdi
  45. Nator Economic Zone Lalpur, Nator
  46. Netrokona Economic Zone -1 Netrokona Sadar, Netrokona
  47. Nilphamarai Economic Zone Nilphamari Sadar, Nilphamari
  48. Panchghar Economic Zone Debiganj, Panchghar
  49. Rajshahi Economic Zone Paba, Rajshahi
  50. Rajshai Economic Zone Poba, Rajshai
  51. Shariatpur Economic Zone Jajira, Shariatpur
  52. Shariatpur Economic Zone Gosharhat, Shariatpur
  53. Sherpur Economic Zone Sherpur, Sherpur
  54. Narayanganj Economic Zone Sonargaon Sonargaon, Sonargaon
  55. Sylhet Special Economic Zone, Gowainghat Gowainghat, Sylhet

List of Private Economic Zones

  1. A K Khan PEconomic Zone Polash, Narshindi
  2. Megna Industrial Economic Zone PEconomic Zone Sonargaon, Narayangonj
  3. Megna Economic Zone PEconomic Zone Sonargaon, Narayangonj
  4. Aman Private Economic Zone Sonargaon, Narayangonj
  5. Abdul Monem PEconomic Zone, Gojaria, Munsigonj
  6. Bay Private Economic Zone Gazipur, Gazipur
  7. United City IT Park Ltd. Badda and Vatara, Dhaka
  8. Arisha Private Economic Zone Keranigonj, Savar, Dhaka
  9. East-West Special Economic Zone Keranigonj, Dahaka
  10. Bosundhora Special Economic Zone Keranigonj, Dahaka

Investment In Bangladesh

  • Economy and GDP

  • Doing Business in Bangladesh

  • Investment in Bangladesh

  • Potential Sectors For Investment

  • Investment Incentives

  • Export Processing Zones

  • Economic Zones Bangladesh

  • Export Policy

  • Banks in Bangladesh

  • Important Numbers